“Don’t Count The Days, Make The Days Count” – How I Spent My Pre-Grad Week

1 year left, 4 months, 2 months, 3 weeks, 2 weeks and then 1 week and then finally 1 day and then, here it is today, the day of graduation.

They told us not to count the days but to make the days count. And this past week, I tried to just forget about everything else and try to spend each moment with the people who have made this past school year, actually, my entire high school life a surreal and memorable one.

This past week was filled with different outings, hang-outs, reunions and events that can actually in a way sum up what high school has been about for me. Even the 3 day graduation practices we had were moments I got to spend with my friends talking about past high school memories and at the same time, future plans for not only this summer but for college as well.

Basketball – First time in a long time

Right after graduation practice ended, a few friends and I decided to hit the court and play some ball. I honestly wasn’t even sure why I was playing when I haven’t even gotten surgery for my torn ACL. Yet even if my movement was very limited, I still enjoyed myself so much as I ran the court, shouted taunts, dribbled that ball and took a shot.

Because basketball will always be part of me! Missed this game so much!

Because basketball will always be part of me! Missed this game so much!

Simply put, I was reminded of all the days I spent shooting hoops with my friends and playing those full-court games with them. I was reminded of the beauty of basketball and why I loved this game so much. And maybe the biggest reason why is the shared bond you get to build with the people you play with.

Chem Camp reunion

It’s amazing how I still have a few friends from Chem Camp who I still talk to up to this day. What’s even more amazing is how much stories we have to share every time we have a reunion, which doesn’t happen very often but thankfully still does. This is why I was very ecstatic when I found out that we’d be having lunch last friday even if it was just 4 of us.

Chem Camp Boys Lunch Out!!

Chem Camp Boys Lunch Out!!

It turned out to be a very fulfilling lunch where we didn’t only get to explore Ateneo and UP town center and eat good food, but we were also able to catch up with each others lives. This is the fun part when you have a reunion after a very long time. Everyone suddenly has so much stories to share. And at the end of the day, I guess we still have the chemistry we got from Chem Camp.

Debate training, IDeA 3 and Divergent movie

It was possibly our last debate competition as high school seniors if we didn’t do well enough, and unfortunately, it did turn out to be our last debate competition.

I guess this was the silver lining in not doing so well in my last debate competition in high school. At least I got to watch the Divergent movie and spend time with my debate teammates. As we looked back at the journey we had this past year in debate, I can honestly that even if we didn’t do extremely well, we had a lot of experiences, both good and bad that we will carry with us forever. I mean, debate truly gave color to my senior year in ways that I could never imagine.

Without a doubt, I don’t regret sending that super long message to my debate coach last May 2013 asking him if I could try out for the team because it may have been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made in high school.

Pre-graduation Lunch 

Pre-grad Lunch with some of the best classmates I've ever had!! Gonna miss all our high school memories guys!

Pre-grad Lunch with some of the best classmates I’ve ever had!! Gonna miss all our high school memories guys!

It’s finally graduation tomorrow. I guess I was able to accomplish my goal of spending time with the people who have made a difference in my life in high school this past week. And now, I’m more than ready to spend one last day as a Xavier student tomorrow and finally graduate from high school.

And in between all these events and hang-outs I listed are even more moments where I spent time with different friends in places like Fully-booked, Gloria Maris, Promenade, Valle-Verde 5, Xavier School and even just chatting on Facebook. I guess it was a week dedicated to spending time with people I want to keep in my life no matter what happens moving forward.

I guess it’s most fitting to end with this quote of Ted from How I Met Your Mother,

“You will be shocked kids, when you discover how easy it is in life to part ways with people forever. That’s why, when you find someone you want to keep around, you do something about it.” 

Leave a Reply

