Silver Linings in January 2013 – How A Grade 7 Video Blog Started It All

*This Silver Lining Series is to celebrate all the memories, experiences, friends and silver linings in the year 2013. It truly has been a year like no other for me and I’d like to spend a few minutes in these next 8-9 days before the year 2013 comes to a close to simply reminisce upon both the small and big moments of every month of this magical year and how much it has meant to me

January 2013 

I type down doitchoco.wordpress.com into my browser and I scroll down to the very first post of my blog and in this January 24, 2013 blogpost, I come across the link of a video blog that I created in 7th grade about, you guessed it right, blogging. I click on the link and the title, “Changing the way you live with blogging” leaves me speechless as I shake my head in disbelief at how the title of the video I made close to 5 years ago could so perfectly encapsulate what blogging has done for me, yes, without a doubt, it has changed my life.

(Here’s the link to the video blog with 13 year old David in it, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=trEsw8mYAwk)

Watching this vlog of mine years ago just brought back so many memories :)) totoy days with weirdo haircut for the win! =))

Watching this vlog of mine years ago just brought back so many memories :)) totoy days with weirdo haircut for the win! =))

It’s mind-blowing how my first blogpost was titled, “A Not So Ordinary Day – Life Is What You Make It” and ever since that day, no day has been an ordinary day for me. This year has been as unordinary as it could get. That day I first decided to start my own personal blog, I remember telling myself that this would be the start of greater things to come. I remember telling myself that 2013 would be the best year and that I had to document all my adventures so that I won’t forget how amazing it will be.

Fast forward 11 months later, more than a hundred posts, countless of ephemeral moments turned into everlasting memories and WOW, just wow, my blog is still actually alive and it has been one helluva year indeed. I simply cannot put into words how surreal this year has been.

Blogging has turned into a passion and is something I now LOVE to do!! :D (image taken from google images)

Blogging has turned into a passion and is something I now LOVE to do!! 😀 (image taken from google images)

I honestly did not think that I would have the discipline to find time to keep blogging on top of everything else yet I was able to do it. I can’t help but feel a sudden surge of zeal and fervor whenever I visit my site and read through my posts. So here I am, reading through my posts during the start of the year, trying to remember why I chose to start my blog. Then I suddenly have a flashback of what life was like during my junior year when I was confused of what my future would be, confused as to why I was going to school and then I started my blog.

Honestly, I don’t remember a lot about January 2013 but as I visited my blogposts during that month, flashbacks suddenly rushed into my mind. I suddenly remembered all my junior year memories, my “PROMblems”, the basketball practices, the chemistry classes, my saturday overtime detention experience, the hang-outs I had with my friends and basically, a David that was unsure of what he wanted to do with his life. 11 months later and I’m still somewhat unsure about what life truly is about but hey, at least one thing is for sure, blogging has changed my life.

My friends now know me as a blogger and this is something I won’t shy away from him. If blogging is what will allow me to make the most out of every day and to live my life to the fullest, then I will continue to blog. My blog has become my refuge when I’m caught in the enigma of life. It has become my outlet to let go of all my anger and frustrations. At the same time, it has become a place for me to celebrate all the moments I wish I could go back to and relive.

Most importantly, it has become a place where I can inspire others to appreciate the little wonders of life, to make every day count, and to hopefully, also find the silver lining in every step of the journey. This is probably one of the simplest ways I can give back as a student. Right now, I may not be able to do much yet in this world but hopefully through my blog, I’m already able to create even a tiny ripple and make a difference in the lives of others.

Saw this picture after typing "blogging" on google images...and just had to insert this image here!

Saw this picture after typing “blogging” on google images…and just had to insert this image here!

-David Ongchoco

One thought on “Silver Linings in January 2013 – How A Grade 7 Video Blog Started It All

Leave a Reply

