18th Birthday – A Reminder That I’m Not Just Another Year Older

Birthdays represent a lot of things. It can mean you’re a year older. It can mean that you’re still alive after said years. It can mean a passing of time. And it can also mean that you can now do certain things, I mean, I’m legal now!! But more than that, it can also mean that it’s time to make a bigger ripple in the world. For me, my birthday this year meant all that plus so much more.

I’m really happy that I got to spend these last few days, including my birthday, with friends who made the last few days such surreal experience. There’s just nothing like eating in a buffet, watching a suspense movie, talking about life, playing basketball with your friends on your birthday. I mean, no matter how absurd or nonsensical we get in our conversations, it’s always a good and euphoric time when you’re with your friends. You can’t help but feel invigorated as you laugh your heart out in almost every single word. I definitely couldn’t have asked for anything more especially after the tiring past few weeks. Laughter with friends truly is the best medicine to anything!

There's no dull moment with these guys! Super thankful to have spent my birthday with them!

There’s no dull moment with these guys! Super thankful to have spent my birthday with them!

I honestly can’t believe I’m a year older already. Time really does fly by quickly. I’m finally 18 yet it feels as if I’m still a child. I was expecting to feel radically different on the day of my birthday. Yet I realized that change doesn’t happen in one day and that this 18th year of mine, I’ve already changed so much.

It has been quite a year already indeed. My 18th year here on earth has been a magical journey like no other. So many impeccable things happened in the last year that I’ve changed so much. Like, there probably wasn’t any other year that I’ve changed this much. There probably wasn’t any other year that I experienced this much. And yes, there probably wasn’t any other year that I’ve learned so much.

A year ago, my priorities, my mindset, my worldview, and even my dreams and aspirations were so different and disparate from what they are today. It’s funny how one year could change you so much. Life truly is about perpetually changing for the better, making every single day a learning experience.

At 18, I now want to make a bigger impact in this world. I now want to find ways to be more involved in the community. I want to learn how to invest in stocks. I want to learn how to photoshops and create movies. I want to learn how to code. I want to learn so many new things. But as of now, I still have a goal hanging this Christmas break, and that’s to make the best possible college applications and be able to make it to a good university. I guess I got to sit back a bit and take it one step at a time.

I guess it goes back full circle. This birthday reminded me of all the blessings I have in life, especially the people who matter to me the most, my family and my friends. It was also a reminder to me that I should continue sharing my blessings in every way that I can. Finally, it was a reminder that I’ve come a long way but at the same time, I still have many bridges to cross. I’ve survived 18 years and hopefully, I will survive many more years.

Because this birthday was a celebration of the phantasmagorical 18th year it has been!

Because this birthday was a celebration of the phantasmagorical 18th year it has been!

Each year is a year that should be celebrated, no matter how festive or trifling it may have been. As the year 2013 comes to a close, I guess it’s the best time to find ways to thank everyone who made this year such a phantasmagorical one. I have so much more to say about this 18th year of mine and this year 2013 as a whole (my birthday just had to fall near end of the year), so I guess it’s just right that I find the silver lining in every month of the past year in my upcoming blog post series!

-David Ongchoco

One thought on “18th Birthday – A Reminder That I’m Not Just Another Year Older

  1. Pingback: 18 | Val Says It All

Leave a Reply

