An Enchanted Last 3 Days – Entrep Weekend + Christmas Gift Giving

The last few days have been so tiring yet so surreal. The Entrep weekend is over. It seemed just like yesterday when the third quarter just started as we sat in the Multi purpose hall listening to a talk about social entrepreneurship yet here we are three days away from the start of Christmas break.

Writing a reflection paper during CLE a while ago about the third quarter Gawad Kalinga Enchanted Farm experience really made me pause for a moment and think about everything that has happened during this third quarter. It truly has been an amazing adventure like no other. I’ve learned so much this quarter especially during the last three days.

It’s mind blowing how much this third quarter has shaped my dreams and aspirations. The social entrepreneurship curriculum of this quarter has really inspired me to pursue my goals and dreams of becoming a social entrepreneur, starting my own business and creating an innovative product that will forever change the world.

Duck Delights -- Our business Produck that I will forever be passionate about :) This is where it all starts!

Duck Delights — Our business Produck that I will forever be passionate about 🙂 This is where it all starts!

These last three days have been such a surreal experience filled with so many different moments, both good and bad, happy and sad yet I’m just glad that everything happened.

The late nights working on the proposal, the countless meetings during lunch, the disagreements and arguments between members, the 100 wraps to be made by 10 am, the early morning last minute changes and improvisations, the stressful hours waiting for electricity to come back and myriad of other moments are all experiences that I will forever cherish and remember when look back at this surreal experience.

Focused on the job trying to make the orders as fast as possible -- stressful but at the same time enjoyable!

Focused on the job trying to make the orders as fast as possible — stressful but at the same time enjoyable!

I’ve read so much about creating a business, running one and all the caveats that go with it but it’s a completely different experience when you get to go through the process yourself. It was so quite different from what I expected yet it hasn’t changed my dream of becoming an entrepreneur who’ll one day change the world. Hopefully, with this experience and everything I’ve learned, I’m now one step closer to my dream. At the same time, I know that things won’t always work out the way we want it to, but sometimes, we just have to adjust and it will work out for the better!

I’m honestly thankful for this experience as a whole. Despite all the turmoils and turbulences along the way, I have to say that I really enjoyed running our booth during the weekend and seeing the satisfaction in the faces of our customers.

With two of our biggest customers! Really glad that you loved our produck! :)

With two of our biggest customers! Really glad that you loved our produck! 🙂

Personally, this is what really gave me fulfillment. Being able to see the joy in the faces of the customers as they tasted our product is what made the experience so surreal. I honestly had my doubts about our product but I guess everything worked out, I mean, we were sold out at 4:30 pm on Sunday, more than 3 hours before the bazaar was supposed to end!

Furthermore, our visit to the National Children’s Hospital to serve more than a 100 wraps was also a really heart-warming experience for me. It was really disheartening and depressing seeing the cancer patients tied up to dextrose and having a hard time moving. It was here that I once again saw how lucky I am and why I should share my blessings with others. During that same moment, I couldn’t help but feel a need to do something more, to find a way to help them. Hopefully, through our specialty wraps that we made for them, we were able to give them a little bit of hope and happiness especially during this Christmas season.

Performed for the cancer patients during the Christmas gift giving program :)

Performed for the cancer patients during the Christmas gift giving program 🙂

Seeing these cancer patients in such dire conditions was another reminder to me to be thankful for all my blessings. The Christmas season is the perfect time to share our blessings with others. It is also the perfect time to thank everyone who has made a difference in our lives.

Getting ready to make the wraps at the National Children's Hospital

Getting ready to make the wraps at the National Children’s Hospital

I’m really thankful for all the experiences I’ve had and I can’t help but thank Xavier for giving us Xaverians this third quarter where we got to run our own business. In just a few days, this quarter will be finally over and the Christmas break will finally start. I honestly can’t wait for all the adventures that still await me as I try to live out the true spirit of Christmas, the season of generosity, appreciation and thanksgiving!

Giving out our wraps to the cancer patients at the National Children's Hospital

Giving out our wraps to the cancer patients at the National Children’s Hospital

-DOitChoco

Leave a Reply

