In A Blink Of An Eye, We’re Half-way Through

It’s been an incredibly tiring week like no other, zapping the every ounce of energy I had. But in a blink of an eye, it’s already sem-break — one semester over, one semester to go. The sem-break couldn’t have been timelier.

The 2nd quarter just like the 1st quarter of my Senior Year has been simply amazing. At first, I thought that my first quarter couldn’t be matched. With my trips to Singapore and Thailand and numerous other conferences and tournaments and memorable experiences, I was resigned to the fact that my 2nd quarter wouldn’t be as surreal as my first quarter. But to my surprise, my 2nd quarter was just as magical and in some aspects even more so.

When you have your grad-picture taking, you know graduation is coming soon....

When you have your grad-picture taking, you know graduation is coming soon….

From studying and taking the SAT subject tests (particularly my US history experience :)), participating in the SM Immersion, going through the Fully Alive Retreat, generating a lot of discussion and attention with my Inquirer Article, the launch of Project Jeep by Green Team, and the countless of invaluable memories in between, the 2nd quarter has managed to to surprise me in almost every possible way. All these experiences of mine weren’t just fun and memorable, they were also full of numerous life lessons and realizations that will surely help me in the final two quarters of my Senior Year!

With everything that has happened during the last few days, I’ve questioned a lot of my values, goals and priorities in life.

The SM immersion I had earlier in the month is still something I look back at from time to time remembering the experience I had and the insights I gained from those 4 days in SM. Furthermore, the recent attention my article that my article in Inquirer received was also really shocking and led me to really think about the experience i had and the realities of the world we live in. As of now, everything’s still sinking in and it would be best for me to let the emotions die down first before I blog about my realizations but simply put, everything that has happened regarding my SM Immersion article will definitely be a highlight of my senior year when it’s all said and done.

I'm really going to miss everyone in my class.....the SM immersion and the fully

I’m really going to miss everyone in my class…..the SM immersion and the fully

The Fully Alive Retreat and the college talks have also really hit home in making me feel nostalgic and sentimental that my stay in Xavier School is about to end. There are times when I wish that I was a freshman again in high school but at the same time, I’m really looking forward to all the surprises that await me in college. There isn’t much time left in Xavier yet all the memories I’ve made so far will only become even more valuable as I get closer to graduation.

Having the college talk today to end the 1st semester really put things into perspective. It’s reality that in a few months time, we will all be graduating and going to our respective colleges. A lot of us still don’t know what we want to do but at the end of the day, we will eventually find out.

Speaking of college, taking the SATs is a whole different topic in my life right now. Honestly, it’s been such a hassle reviewing for the SATs and worrying about it on top of my schoolwork and all my other extra-curricular activities. Right now, I’m not even sure if I should apply abroad or just study in a local university for one year first. At the same time, taking the SATs has already taught me so much already, not just about the academics, but more importantly about the value of hard work, practice, dedication and time management. At the end of the day, everything happens for a reason and I believe that whatever path I end up in, it will be for the best!

With college just ahead, it's hard not to ponder upon all the uncertainties and the decisions I'll have to be making soon..

With college just ahead, it’s hard not to ponder upon all the uncertainties and the decisions I’ll have to be making soon..

The social entrepreneurship talk we had yesterday was also really moving and inspiring. Hearing real life stories of people giving back to the community and uplifting the lives of others through local industries was a challenge to us students to find happiness in helping others. With the focus of the 3rd quarter on social entrepreneurship, I honestly can’t wait to see what our teachers have in stores for us.

Furthermore, it was also really nice being able to talk in front of my batch mates about Project Jeep and how we can create an even bigger ripple through the power of networking. Hopefully, the project succeeds and we’re able to expand in the near future. As of now, I just feel really relieved that we were finally able to launch the project after all the work i had to put in.

Spent the first day of sem-break chilling with my friends, watching a movie and really just forgetting about everything even for just a few hours and enjoying life's little wonders! Got to make the most out of my sem-break!

Spent the first day of sem-break chilling with my friends, watching a movie and really just forgetting about everything even for just a few hours and enjoying life’s little wonders! Got to make the most out of my sem-break!

Overall, I’m thankful for all the opportunities and experiences I’ve had in the 2nd quarter but at the same time, this sem-break is a much needed break. It’s a chance to try to get away from things, relax, spend time with friends, think about what truly matters and get ready for the upcoming experiences that still await me in the upcoming days, weeks and months. Then again, my sem-break is actually quite packed but this means that a lot of experiences and adventures await me!!

My Senior Year adventure is about to get even better and I wouldn’t be surprised if I get surprised in the last two quarters! Simply put, it’s been that type of year where life has found ways of catching me off-guard with mind-blowing experiences!  With two quarters left, I shall just try my best to cherish every moment for there’s no turning back anymore! Got to make every single day count!

-DOitChoco

Leave a Reply

