In Search of the Picture Perfect Moment

I couldn’t help but walk down memory lane as my classmates and I had our grad picture taking last Saturday. Thinking about what I would wear for my creative shot made me look back at my high school journey. I honestly didn’t know what to wear for my creative shot for I wanted to wear something that would encapsulate my high school experience.

My high school journey has been alien-like; no, it has been MARTIAN-like, unpredictable and capricious in the most abstruse of ways. A lot of people say I’m different but I’ve become a firm believer that it’s the choices that we make to be different that allows us to be who we are.

As I pondered upon how I could encapsulate my high school experience in my creative shot, it hit me that I wouldn’t be able to come up with a perfect costume or outfit to embody the diversity and uniqueness of the entity of my entire high school experience.

Just like my senior year, my creative costume couldn't have been more eccentric, crazy or unique as wearing a Martian jersey with a Pikachu hat =))

Just like my senior year, my creative costume couldn’t have been more eccentric, crazy or unique as wearing a Martian jersey with a Pikachu hat =))

Many times we wonder whether or not we could have done something better. At the end of the day, there’s no such thing as a perfect shot or moment. What makes a moment so picture perfect is how imperfect it is. The mistakes, the flaws, the craziness and all the imperfect moments is what makes high school, high school; In a much bigger scale, it’s what makes life, LIFE!

The closest thing to a picture perfect shot that I could come up with was by wearing my Martian Galaxy Jersey along with a Pikachu hat made by my mom.

Why the Martian Galaxy Jersey? Well, being a Martian is about being different and embracing all the unique individuals around you. It’s about not being afraid to look like an alien. It’s about doing something that nobody else would do. It’s about making every moment count!

The opportunities in life are as vast, endless and enormous as a galaxy. We will get lost at times, but we will find our way back. And like they say, shoot for the stars so even if you fail, you fall in the sky!

Why the Pikachu hat? I’ve grown up physically and mentally in the last few years in high school but deep inside me is the same David, the David who loved watching Pokemon and playing both the card game and the video game. Just like how the face of Pokemon, Pikachu has never changed despite the numerous seasons already, at the end of the day, I will still be David no matter what happens and like my favorite movie quote from Wreck-It Ralph goes, “There’s no one I’d rather be than me.”

Thank you to my mommy for making my pikachu hat :D

Thank you to my mommy for making my pikachu hat 😀

For me, the creative shot in the grad pictorial was tantamount to the eccentric and obscure choices and decisions I’ve made in high school. Yet, along with all those choices are experiences that I will carry with me forever.

For some, these moments may seem just mundane and ordinary let’s get it over with events but for me, going through the grad picture taking was a reminder to me that this is it, I will be graduating already in less than 5 months time. It’s also a reminder that my four year high school journey is about to end, a journey that cannot be capture in a single picture.

As we enter the final week of the 2nd Quarter, I want to remind not only myself but all the other high school seniors out there to make every moment from here on out count.

Around 5 months left in the tank and it won’t get any longer. Time waits for nobody and if there’s one thing we can’t have more of is our time in high school so ….. cherish the hell weeks, the School Fairs, the assessments, the projects, the late nights, the headaches, the club meetings, the lunch breaks, the Chinese classes but most importantly, CHERISH THE MOMENT!

Every day from here on out will only be faster. Everyday that passes by will be another chance to make those abstruse and Martian-like decisions that lead to “I love/I hate” school moments! And buried between those “I love/I hate” school experiences are bits and pieces of moments that a few months or years from now will be the picture perfect moments we look back at!

Make every day count!

Cuz unfortunately even Harry Potter can't turn back time and extend my senior year.....so I just took a picture with him =))

Cuz unfortunately even Harry Potter can’t turn back time and extend my senior year…..so I just took a picture with him =))

-DOitChoco

Leave a Reply

