Peace One Day – How Will You Spread Peace Today?

LET’S CELEBRATE PEACE ONE DAY!!!

PeaceOneDay

Peace One Day (http://peaceoneday.org/) was started by Jeremy Gilley a prominent film maker and philanthropist.  He believes that peace can be found in every human being and that everyone can do something for peace. It’s really awe-inspiring how one man was able to start a campaign for one day of global unity and create such a profound impact in the lives of others.

At a time where the crisis in Syria is escalating and where people in Zamboanga are suffering because of the MNLF conflict, the upcoming celebration of the Peace One Day couldn’t be timelier.

In line with the celebration of Peace One Day, last week, I also participated  in a video conference through the Face to Faith Program. I got to hear the different perspectives of students from other schools and what they thought about peace. It was a really moving experience hearing other students from different schools talk about what peace is to them. 

A few insights I gained from the video conference:

1. Peace starts with yourself; In order to have peace with others, you must first have peace with yourself

2. Peace is about understanding and respect. It is only when we are able to understand and respect each other’s view and opinion will we be able to attain lasting peace.

3. Peace is an innate language. It is through peace that we are able to communicate with one another.

4. Peace is about unity despite all our differences in culture, religion and views.

5. Peace is about strengthening our relationships with others.

Personally, I believe that peace is about unity and we will only be able to truly achieve peace if we are able to pause for a moment and understand ourselves, our environment and the people around us.

1378889693-peace_one_day_logoAs we continued to talk about peace and what it means to us, I couldn’t help but ponder upon some questions. Is there really a way for us students to help in these types of conflicts? What can we normal students who sit in the classroom for an average of 8 hours a day to for these people?

As students, we can’t really go to these conflict stricken places and start promoting peace. However, this doesn’t mean we can’t do anything. Even small actions can make a difference. I challenge you to be more aware and to spread peace in your home, in your school and in your community.  Today is your chance to start anew and start spreading peace. All it takes is a bit of effort with a SMILE 🙂

This year’s theme is “Who will you make peace with?” For me, I’d like to make peace with my family, friends and also myself. My Senior Year has been a roller coaster ride so far and there have been moments where I got carried away and became a bit too cantankerous and a pain to deal with. There are times when I even hate on myself for doing certain things (which is really crazy but unfortunately true in some instances). There will still be many challenges I will face in the near future where I might get carried away again but before I graduate High School, I would like to be able to strengthen all my relationships and make peace with my family, friends and myself.

As a simple step toward my goal of improving my relationships with everyone around me and promoting peace, I decided to create a video of what they think of peace. The answers I receive varied from person to person but one thing is for sure, everyone believes in peace.

So I’d like to ask you, how will YOU spread peace today?

“Imagine all the people living life in peace. You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us, and the world will be as one.” –John Lennon

3 thoughts on “Peace One Day – How Will You Spread Peace Today?

  1. Pingback: The Day After Peace « MisBehaved Woman

  2. Pingback: One Day, One Dance « MisBehaved Woman

  3. Pingback: Peace is the true north, but damn it taxes me! | Soul Kitty

Leave a Reply

