Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock – Accepting Help then Giving Help!

This is my response to the Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock

Daily Prompt : I Am a Rock

Help-by-LiminalMike

Growing up, I never really was a person who would go out of his way to ask for help. I always wanted to do things on my own or figures things my own way. For me, asking for help was a sign for weaknesses and I was also afraid of being rejected.

Whenever my parents would help me or whenever they’d tell me to ask my sister or teacher for help, I’d feel so small and powerless. I wanted to be able to prove that I could do things on my own. Aside from that, when there would be group works, I’d usually end up doing most of the work because of the fact that I didn’t trust my group mates.

During these times, I would also think that instead of helping me, they might end up making things worse and just further eating up my time so it would be better if I did not ask for help. However, as I grew older, I learned the importance of asking for help. We cannot do everything by ourselves. We are only human and we will always need the assistance of others.

When I started facing tougher challenges, I had no choice but to swallow my pride and ask others for help. I guess, it is during these turmoils and low moments that we end up swallowing our pride and admitting that we aren’t as might and powerful as we think and that we do need the help of others. When we accept this fact and reality of life, life suddenly becomes a bit easier.

 Up to now, I’d have to admit, even if I’ve been getting more help from others, it is still hard to accept it. It’s just really hard to trust others for you never really know if a person has hidden intentions. 

Trust is something that really matters and is a big issue when one talks about asking for help. Truth be told, it’s really hard to ask people for help especially when you do not trust them. It takes a certain level of trust for you to be able to rely on someone. However, this isn’t always the case for there will be times where in you simply have to outright trust someone.

In order for us to achieve our goals and make the most out of our lives, we must be able to accept that we are only human and that we have our limits. We are not experts in everything and we will always need the help of others.

There are always people out there who are willing to lend a helping hand. There are always people out there who have gone through a similar experience and understand what you are going through. There are people out there who want to make a difference in your life and sometimes, it’s just a matter of allowing these people to reach you.

However, the process doesn’t also end when we receive help. More often than not, when we receive help from others, we are also inclined to either give back to the person who helped us. Better yet, we must learn how to pay-it forward and also offer help to others.

This is the cycle that we must continue and push for. In order for our world to continue developing and improving as a whole, we must all be willing to both accept help and give help.

helping-hands

-DOitChoco

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock – Accepting Help then Giving Help!

  1. Pingback: On the Road | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: A Rock Walks into A Bar | Molly Greye

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I am a Rock | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | To Breathe is to Write

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock – IT’S MY LIFE | Phoenix Flights

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Motherhood and Beyond

  7. Pingback: Do I really need anyone’s help? | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

