My Senior Year “Hero’s Journey” So Far!

This blogpost is inspired by my English lesson on mythology and the Hero’s Journey.

We all have our own “Hero’s Journey.” It may not be evident but everyday is part of our journey. In fact, we might even have several different micro-journeys and mini adventures in different parts of our lives. What I’d like to focus on today is the journey I’ve had so far in my Senior Year. The first two months of Senior Year have been one of the most mind blowing but at the same time, one of the most challenging times I’ve ever faced in my life.

I’d like to analyze the two months I’ve had so far using the Hero’s Journey template that is seen in almost in all the stories, movies and myths we see in our everyday life.

Call to Adventure – The challenge to make the most out of my Senior Year. The call to step out of my comfort zone and try out new things and grow as a student, learner and person!

Assistance – In every journey, everyone needs help. No man is an island and this truly has been the case throughout the first two months of my senior year. In these first two months of senior year, I’ve needed to rely on my family, friends, classmates and teachers more than ever. From copying notes from my friends, to going to my teachers for extra encounters, they’ve truly helped me in so many ways already! I’m thankful to have all these people in my life!

Departure – I go to school to learn and it’s no different this last year of mine in high school. However, hand in hand with doing my best in my studies, I’m trying to maximize the opportunities offered to us in school.

Joining the debate team this school year is one of the better choices I’ve made in my school life. Debate is something I’m really enjoying and is something I want to definitely get better as this school year progresses!

In the last two months, I’ve also been to Singapore and Thailand. These two adventures I had are two of the most memorable experiences I’ve ever had. The beauty in going to new places and meeting unique individuals from different cultures is simply mind blowing!

I’ve also been to several other events, ranging from model congress to press conference events. Going to all of these had trade-offs but without a doubt, I learned a lot from every single experience I’ve had so far. Lessons that will definitely come in handy in the future!

Trials – To be honest, it’s been hard juggling all of these activities, responsibilities and commitments. There are moments when I question what I’ve been doing with my life. However, all these troubling times and shadows are just part of the journey. Now that I think about it, all these tough times will only make me stronger.

Approach – Just because times are hard, just because somethings seem impossible, just because it seems as though the world against me, doesn’t mean that I should just succumb to the pressure. Now that I think about it, I should go back to my old mentality of simply doing my best in everything without worrying of the outcomes for at the end of the day, the only thing I can truly control is the effort I give.

At the same time, with all the decisions and choices I have to make, I have to make sure that no matter what happens I live up to my decisions. Life is about making those tough choices, taking all those risks but at the same time living up to them. Things won’t always turn out the way I want it to but this doesn’t mean I should regret every single wrong choice I’ve made so far.

Instead of counting my wrong choices and the mistakes I’ve committed, from these first two months, I’ve realized the importance of counting my blessings and looking at the positive side in things.

Crisis – So far, the hardest challenge I’ve faced is catching up with school work and trying to stay sane as I do so. Sometimes as I look forward too much, I stress myself out worrying about all the uncertainties. I started to forget that life will go on no matter what and that we must not stress over the little things.

Treasure, Result, Return – At the end of the day, all the late nights, all the sacrifices and all the effort will eventually pay-off. This is how life works. Nothing will be given to you on a silver platter. We have to work for that treasure we seek. It won’t always be easy, but it most definitely be worth it. We may not see the worth now, but we eventually will.

New Life and Resolution – There’s still a long way before my Senior year ends. Two months and I’ve already experienced so much. It’s as if I couldn’t ask for more. However, without a doubt, this is just the start. There will still be more adventures, more challenges, more turmoils, more low and high moments and yes, with everything I’ve learned so far, I’ll definitely be able to take them all on!

By the end of this all, all I really want to be able to say, more than anything is that I made the most out of my last year in high school. The next few days, weeks and months, I will be faced with more decisions and crossroads but with everything I’ve learned so far in my first two months of Senior Year, I know that I am now stronger and more prepared to face all these upcoming challenges.

Journey

Every step we take, we may not fully see
Challenges await, mistakes will be made.
Nobody said the voyage will be easy,
Yet when you reach the end of the sea,
It will be the end to a journey.
Every moment you had, all meant to be!

I’d like to end with the quote from Joseph Campbell, the author of “The Hero With A Thousand Faces.”

“The cave you fear to enter holds the treasure you seek.” – Joseph Campbell

Just like me, I’m sure you have you’re on your own journey right now! Don’t be afraid to go on that voyage, face the challenges, overcome your fears and claim that treasure you seek for at the end of the day, life is one big journey!

-DOitChoco

Leave a Reply

