Having Fun, Overshooting and Why Things Eventually Work Out For the Better!

It’s finally the end of another week of Senior Year. This week was honestly one of the toughest weeks I had to go through.

Several times during this week, I felt really down and unsure if what I was doing was worth it. It was really tough and stressful trying to assiduously catch up with all the lessons and also give ample time to my extra-curricular activities.

I got so caught up in my endless to do list, my college application, my school responsibilities and extra-curricular activities that I forgot the most important thing. The thing that matters most this Senior Year of mine. I forgot that Senior Year should be fun!

I was starting to become obsessed with trying to do so much that I was losing sight of my goals and my values. Everything was happening so fast that I was changing along with it. I was getting engulfed by all the requirements, deadlines, responsibilities and things that I had to do. I’m glad that the week is over and I have this chance to slow down a bit and go back to being ME.

One of the better things that happened to me this week though was my making it to the Xavier debate team that will be going to Thailand to compete in the ASWDC (Asian Schools World Debating Championship). I wasn’t initially part of the team since I was only able to attend one tryout day since I had to go to Singapore. I really wanted to be part of the team though and luckily one of the members backed out and a slot for me was opened.

I’m really excited for this event especially since it will be my first international competition where I’ll be representing my school. I may not be that good a debater yet but I will make sure that I use this month before the competition to diligently prepare myself so that I can make the most out of this experience!

The start of the week may have been a bit shaky but things really do work out for the better. Just yesterday, I finally got to meet my CAMP (College Admissions Mentors for Peers) mentor. I’m really lucky to have a guy who studied in Yale and was also a former Xaverian, as my mentor. In the 2 hours we spent chatting, I learned so much about the study abroad process and why I should give it a shot.

I wholeheartedly appreciate and support what the CAMP organization is doing!

I wholeheartedly appreciate and support what the CAMP organization is doing!

College will be a whole new experience but right now, I have to focus on making the most out of this last year. Yes, I will have to balance my Senior Year with the college application process but honestly, what I truly want right now is just to be able to make the most out of this last year of mine in High School.

The greatest thing I probably took away from our meeting was that the college admissions process, especially for the schools in the US, is a crapshoot. There are not guarantees and there are no formulas in getting to your dream school. The only thing one can do to improve his/her chances is to simply work hard and give it 1000% percent. It’s better to overshoot than to undershoot.

It was really nice talking to him and he really helped me feel that I’m not alone in this application process. There will be a lot of essays to write, tests to take and decisions to make. It won’t be an easy process but hearing all his stories about his experience abroad and the experiences of the people he has met from all over the world, I feel that it will definitely be worth it.

Sometimes, we just have to give our very best and let God to the rest :D

Sometimes, we just have to give our very best and let God to the rest 😀

It’s amazing that no matter how bipolar and crazy my week has been, I still end up here, blogging. I find so much solace in writing and sharing my experiences to the world. Life isn’t perfect and I’m sure everyone goes through their fair share of high and low moments. In the end, the most important thing is that we don’t lose sight of what matters to us and who we truly are.

This past week really showed me that no matter how daunting, challenging or dire life can be, things do eventually work out for the better. Sometimes, it’s just a matter of finding the silver lining in things, being patient, living in the moment and just simply doing our best in everything we do. Ohh and off-course the most important thing, it’s a matter of remembering to have FUN and ENJOYING every single moment of life!

-DOitChoco

One thought on “Having Fun, Overshooting and Why Things Eventually Work Out For the Better!

  1. dedicated hosting

    Just desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness to your put up is just excellent and i could think you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to take hold of your RSS feed to stay updated with forthcoming post. Thank you a million and please keep up the rewarding work.|

    Reply

Leave a Reply

