Looking Back, Moving Forward – My First Day of Senior Year!

I honestly didn’t know what to expect and how the first day of senior year would go but man, it couldn’t have been better. It was just so surreal to see all my friends, classmates and teachers once again all in one place. Aside from that, today was just filled with such vibrant energy that it was contagious and I just couldn’t help but be zealous throughout the entire day.

The first day of classes started out quite well as we all gathered for the usual orientation, except that this orientation wasn’t so usual. It’s our last orientation as a batch and a lot of us were just nostalgic and at the same time excited to start the last year of ours in high school.

The student council reemphasized school pride and making the most out of our last year. Aside from that, they also encouraged each and everyone of us to break new grounds and make a difference in our last year.

Loving every second of Senior Year so far!

Loving every second of Senior Year so far!

This was followed by our student activity programs head’s talk which was about this year’s Xavier China Experience, or XCE. I was really blown away by his presentation and I just can’t wait for XCE! The activities seem so awe-inspiring and it will also be my first time to join XCE.

Aside from XCE, our class adviser also oriented us about the different events for 4th year. Aside from college entrance exams, we’ll also be having our recollection in Xavier Nuvali, our SM immersion and our Entrep Bazaar. These are all things I’m really looking forward to and will without a doubt, make senior year memorable!

Moving on, what made this day also so fantastic and surreal was the fact that I, along with a few other seniors, were given the opportunity to talk to the younger batches about Xavier pride and making the most out of high school.

Through this, I was able to look back at my stay in high school and at the same time, share my insights, regrets and realizations with these young guns who will eventually, one day also be seniors trying to make the most out of what’s left of their stay in Xavier.

I’m really glad that I was able to share my experiences and pay-it forward. I really don’t want them to commit the same mistakes that I’ve committed and regret it later on. Everyone is talented and these younger Xaverians have so much potential. Hopefully, the other seniors and I were able to inspire these young men to step out of their comfort zone, try out new things, find their passion, strive for excellence, make the most out of high school and simply, make a difference.

After giving talks to the younger batches, I had lunch with a few close friends of mine from freshman year. It was really nice catching up with them and talking about how fast time flies. When we first entered high school our problems were just about fitting in and getting good grades but now, life is just so much bigger. Most of us are looking forward to college and our future career yet a lot of us also aren’t entirely sure what we want to be and what the future holds.

Everything will definitely work out for the better for all of us. Right now, we may have so much uncertainties but that’s what makes life exciting! Right now, we may be confused but eventually, we will find who we truly are and what really matters to us. A quote from that our guidance counselor showed us perfectly embodies this and what our mindset should be in facing the future.

“The big picture doesn’t just come from distance; it also comes from time.” – Simon Sinek

The first day of Senior Year has been nothing short of amazing. Every second, every minute and every moment just seemed so surreal. Day one is over but there are definitely a lot more memorable days to come! This is only just the start! I honestly can’t wait for tomorrow, the second day of Senior Year!

My Senior Year Schedule! Excited to meet my teachers! :D

My Senior Year Schedule! Excited to meet my teachers! 😀

-DOitChoco

Leave a Reply

