My Senior Year Battle Plan

Were you ever faced with a To Do List as long as this? If yes, start prioritizing and cutting down on the unnecessary stuff.

Have you ever faced with a To Do List as long as this? If yes, start prioritizing and cutting down on the unnecessary stuff.

As the School Year approaches, I’ve started thinking about how to make the most out of my senior year and manage my time wisely. As I looked at my “To-do list” and my list of commitments, I was a bit overwhelmed. Inside my head, I was saying to myself, “why did I choose to commit to so many different things?” and, “I should’ve listened to my dad when he told me not to commit to so many things or else one of these things would have to suffer.”

Obviously, I can’t change the past and not commit to some of these commitments. At first, it seemed as though that I wouldn’t have time to work on all these things and I’d end up burning out but as I read articles about time management, I realized that I have more than ample time to accomplish all these tasks and goals of mine as long as I manage my time wisely. In fact, as I started planning my schedule wisely and breaking down each commitment, everything looked a lot more doable.

Overwhelmed with all your tasks? Relax, there's a time for everything!

Overwhelmed with all your tasks? Relax, there’s a time for everything!

Instead of complaining about how much I have on my plate when school hasn’t even started yet (due to SAT subject test review, Extra-curricular activities, outside school projects), I’ve decided to attack of all these systematically and get right into action! As I reevaluated my schedule and thought about how my day goes, I realized that I spend a lot of idle time doing unproductive things that don’t even bring me any lasting happiness or fulfillment. Bad habits that I can and should eliminate in order to be able to make the most out of every day.

Here’s a short summary of the battle plan that I’ve formulated in order to make the most out of my senior year:

1. Set your priorities and cut down on the unnecessary distractions. You’ll be surprised how much more you’re able to accomplish once you’re able to get rid of those bad habits.

2. Create a set time schedule to avoid procrastination and also to help you become more efficient. This will also help you be able to set time for everything and in the process, put in the necessary work for your multiple commitments.

3. Enjoy what you’re doing. We’re at our best when we enjoy what we’re doing and we end up being able to accomplish so much more when we keep a positive outlook.

Let's make every second, minute and hour count! :D

Let’s make every second, minute and hour count! 😀

Now that I’ve got a battle plan, I’m ready to follow it, do my best and enjoy the ride. Breaking the bad habits of being idle and spacing out at certain times and constantly checking social networking sites and my email even if I don’t have to will be a challenge but it’s possible. There’s a time for everything. We shouldn’t just remember this but we should also put it into effect for smart time management can help us make the most out of our lives and in turn, bring us unparalleled fulfillment. I really want to make the most out of my last year in High School and if I have to be more disciplined, focused and organized to achieve this, I will do it!

-DOitChoco

PS. Check out this insightful and though-provoking article titled “Are You As Busy As You Think?” http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970203358704577237603853394654.html

 

Leave a Reply

