The Road to June 1 – An Uphill Climb To That 2400 Peak!

It’s been a few days since I’ve last posted here because of the fact that I’ve been really immersing my self in review material and trying to do my best as I prepare for the SAT the I will be taking in June 1.

111215055904-college-sat-testing-booklet-story-top

The last few days, I’ve been really spending time reviewing for arguably the biggest test in my life, the SAT. It’s quite absurd how one test can be so abstruse, challenging and at the same time be so universal. The Scholastic Aptitude Test is suppose to be able to measure our reasoning and analytic skills in the three core subjects of Critical Reading, Math and Writing.

It’s mind blowing how fast time flies! It seemed just like yesterday when I was telling my dad,”Relax, I still have X number of months to review before the test,” but in a blink of an eye, I have 10 days left to buckle up, put on my nerd glasses and give it everything I’ve got. In all honesty though, I didn’t expect it to come this soon; actually, I’m quite astonished that SUMMER is about to end. This summer has honestly been just one roller coaster ride full of extreme highs and lows. I’ll save my senti feelings and reflection about what a summer it has been for another time for this post is all about conquering that Blue book and the test it represents!!

The_Official_SAT_Study_Guide

Preparing for the SAT has been a really tedious and taxing process. I really only started seriously reviewing for it during April and that was only on weekends because I had Chem Camp and Basketball Training everyday. It’s also actually the first time in my life that I’ve gone to a tutor to help me out in preparing for the English part of the test. This was only on weekends though and I was still having a hard time mustering up enough discipline to do serious review on weekdays because of the tiring everyday basketball practices.

sat_rdax_300x225_90

But you know how the story goes, I ended up tearing my ACL two weeks ago and these last two weeks, I’ve been really ambivalent but at the same time, I’ve decided to really give it my best and review and prepare myself for June 1 as much as I can. During the last week, I’ve been really hitting the books hard and trying grasp all the concepts and lessons that I’ll be needing to get my desired score in the test.

The road has been really daunting and there have been times when I don’t even know if what I’m doing is worth it. The past few days I’ve been taking practice tests and my score seems to be stuck in the 2000 range. This may seem like a good enough score to some but it’s not good enough for me. It’s really a dream of mine to study in Stanford and based on my research, I’d need to get at least a 2200 to give me a fair chance at getting in. Being Asian also doesn’t help for we all know how Asians are stereotyped as “nerds” and “brainiacs.”

SAT_achievemore

I’m different though. Although I’ve always been in the top percentile of my batch when it comes to grades, the last time that I really studied for something was probably when I was a 4th grader and my parents were still really strict about my grades. Ever since then though, I’ve been winging it and just doing enough to be in the honor roll. I’ve honestly studied harder than ever before these past few days. Although I know this is not the best way to get a high score, I have no other choice but to just pour everything out and give my 10000% in these next days leading up to the exam.

be yourself and give your best

There have definitely been moments when I question myself and whether or not I’m doing the right thing, shutting myself from all the distractions (I deleted my twitter and instagram app on my phone to avoid distractions) is worth it. There are times when getting a 2400, no even just a 2200, seems so impossible. Aside from that, getting the aforementioned scores don’t guarantee anything. It seems as though the chances are 1 in a million.

During these moments though, I just tell myself,”Damn it David, you know you have lots of potential, you’re a smart man, you just have to learn how to stick it out, persevere! Don’t give up!!” Yes!! I guess I just have to believe in myself, use the remaining days I have before the test wisely and just simply, do my best! If I do these, I’ll definitely have no regrets!

Dont-Give-Up

It may be an uphill battle but anything is possible! I’m just looking at this as a challenge that I have to face head on!! I definitely won’t back down and lose to a test! No way! NEVER!

-DOitChoco

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Road to June 1 – An Uphill Climb To That 2400 Peak!

  1. theeverupward

    Hi David! Good luck with your SATs!
    D’you have any dream schools in mind? Maybe it would help in motivating you to do well. Haha. That’s what I did for ACET :))

    Reply
    1. davidongchoco Post author

      Thanks! Yes! My dream school is Stanford but I know it’s really competitive there and even a high SAT score wouldn’t guarantee me a slot but it won’t hurt to try, I might just make it πŸ˜€ and yes, whenever I think of the possibilities, it really is motivating πŸ™‚

      Nice! If ever I end up not going abroad, Ateneo is my number 1 choice here! πŸ˜€ I love the Ateneo campus with all the trees and greens hahaha it feels so vibrant and serene there! And JSEC food is just yummy :)) plus Katips is so near hahaha

      Reply
      1. Joben Mariz

        Oh my gosh! I really hope you get into Stanford. If I were to re-do college, I’d probably wish to go there too πŸ™‚ It’s so cool that they’re right in the middle of Silicone Valley — right at the heart of tech, entrepreneurship, & innovation! Not to mention, great formation. πŸ˜€ They have this course I reaaaaaally want to take, haha I hope you get in and consider taking it. The website is http://extreme.stanford.edu/

        Haha! Yeah, Ateneo is home. πŸ™‚ I used to own JSEC a stall myself πŸ˜‰

      2. davidongchoco Post author

        Awww thanks! I really hope so too! I’m really thinking of ways to really stand out from the other applicants but off-course, getting a good SAT score is essential to even being considered.

        I know right! There are so many opportunities right there from internships to start-ups!

        I went through your about page and you seem like a born entrepreneur yourself! :> Why don’t you take an MBA course there in the future? πŸ™‚

        What course did you take in Ateneo? Nice! I love how Ateneo really encourages one to start his/her own business! Really develops the entrepreneur in each one!

        Your projects on your about page seem really legit and substantial! If ever you need help, like graphic designers, promoting stuff or what not, I can probably help, just ask πŸ™‚

      3. Joben Mariz

        I’m pretty sure you’d do well. :)) Xavier is a really good school πŸ™‚ Some of the smartest people I know went to XS for HS so yeah! you’ll probably make it!!:)) and it seems you’ve been doing your part in preparing and that matters!:)

        Well I’m taking up Legal Management as my pre-law; it’s a business course with some business law classes:) It’s true that we have lots of entrepreneurial activities here. They’re also pushing for social entrepreneurship to us students too. :)) And I’m hoping to start a social enterprise one day because of that! As for the MBA, ill have to think about that because of Law School. My parents wants an attorney in the family and I’m their only hope. Haha.

        Oh thanks so much for offering help! Ill remember that once I launch one of these projects haha!:)

      4. davidongchoco Post author

        Awww thanks for the nice words! You’ve really inspired me to work even harder! The admission process in a school like Stanford can become really mercurial so anything can happen but I’ll just do my best and let God do the rest! πŸ˜€

        Sounds like a really astute program! Naks! I want to go to Ateneo na tuloy! It’s really amazing how people are now more conscious of others and the social aspect of entrepreneurship! Glad to hear that; you can do it! πŸ˜€

        Right but you should really think about it and follow your heart and what you truly want for we only live once! πŸ˜‰ I’m sure your parents will support you naman no matter what path you choose! Pursue your passion and live your dreams! πŸ™‚

        Sure thing! I’ll be more than glad to help and I’m really excited for you! Good luck with those projects! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

