When The World Falls On Your Knee…..Life Still Goes On!

Life never fails to surprise me! I will never understand the complex and abstruse nature of this world, and how one week can be the time of my life then the following week ends up being one of the worst ever.

After the last day of Chem Camp last week, I honestly felt so accomplished and happy with how things were turning out for me. Then in a blink of an eye, the world goes upside down. Obviously, to begin with, there was no more vibrantly waking up each day knowing that you’d get to see friends who just make life seems so surreal in Chem Camp.

To add to that, I’ve been really having a hard time regaining the focus, edge and passion that I used to have for basketball. I wasn’t even sure anymore if basketball was the thing for me. I hit rock bottom and really had to think and reflect as to what I should do. As I looked back, I remembered my freshman and sophomore year in high school when I was really dedicated and motivated to become the best player I could be. I’d spend countless of hours working on my game, watching game film and even going on a strict diet to build up my body.

A year of sporadic playing time during my Junior Year and a desire to explore life outside of basketball took away from my inner drive. Aside from that, SAT review and Chem Camp was also taking a toll on me.

I needed to get back the spark and a heart to heart talk with my dad and a day of reflecting and recalling everything I’ve done for basketball got me back on track. I regained my exuberance and I was ready to give it my all and leave it all on the court especially since I’m an incoming senior already.

I realized that nothing worth it in life is easy and if I wanted to be an integral part of the team in my last year in Xavier, I’d have to regain the unmatched motor, dedication and zeal I used to have.

IMG_2381

The plan was in place and I was really going at every drill in practice with my 110%. Then as we were finishing practice with our usual scrimmage, everything fell apart. One drive to the basket, one hop step, one pop and BOOM, I felt as if the world fell on my knee. It was the first time that I felt such excruciating pain and here I am having a hard time even walking from my room to the bathroom. In a blink of an eye, everything that I had worked for in the last 8 years had disappeared as I lay on the floor shouting in pain.

Everything happened so quickly that I’m not quite sure what to feel right now, but like what my coach said, “Stay positive.” I truly believe in the fact that everything in life happens for a reason. Right now, I ask myself, “Why does this have to happen to me? and why NOW?” Hopefully, weeks or months from now, I understand why.

One things I’ve learned is that life never fails to surprise and leave a lot of us dumb-founded. I may have hit rock-bottom but things could be worse. Looking at things from a different perspective, maybe this is a blessing in disguise. Maybe, I just have to find the silver lining in this.

Like my favorite quote and motto in life states, “Life is what you make it.” This may seem like a setback but it will only be that way if I choose to make it so or I could choose to see this injury as a learning experience and just make the most out of my time off the court.

The uncertainty right now kills especially because of the fact that I can barely move my right knee anymore. I’ll be heading to the doctor later to find out what exactly is the condition of my knee. No matter what happens though, I’ll just have to accept my fate for it’s not like I can change the past; I can only learn from it and move on for LIFE GOES ON!

life_goes_on_____by_lyxdesign-d5cwudc

-DOitChoco

*editors note: David found out that he tore his anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) an injury that would sideline him for the rest of the season

Leave a Reply

