Another Day, Another Experience – AFC Gala Dinner

Everyday is another adventure and another chance to experience something new.

It has been a routine of my dad to take me and my siblings to all his endeavors and adventures so we may be exposed to all the wonders of life and experience all sorts of sophisticated events.

It was just last monday when my father invited me and my siblings to accompany him to this dinner gathering in Makati Shangrila called, “Manila Food and Wine Festival, AFC Gala Dinmer.” He was able to secure 5 tickets to this prestigious event because of the fact he was a donor and supporter of the scholarship fund that the host created for aspiring chefs all over the country.

When he first mentioned it, I was actually a bit skeptical but when he told me that I’d regret it if I didn’t go, it occurred to me that I have nothing to lose and I might as well go to this Gala dinner and take part in gourmet food by master chefs.

During the past year, I’ve actually learned how to enjoy the different delicacies and cuisines. I’ve learned how to taste and take part in food that I’ve never tried before. I quickly turned into a food enthusiast and having a ravenous appetite, I was really enticed when my dad talked

As I skimmed the menu, I was actually quite surprised and astonished. I was left dumb founded with the very deep and detailed descriptions of each and every dish.

The Menu for the Night

The Menu for the Night

Dish Number 1: Mushroom and liver ravioli in duck consomme topped with spiced shredded duck and caramelized leeks. 

Mushroom and liver ravioli in duck consomme topped with spiced shredded duck and caramelized leeks

Mushroom and liver ravioli in duck consomme topped with spiced shredded duck and caramelized leeks

Dish Number 2: Pan-seared Coral Trout with minced squid concasse, dressed with squid ink sabayon and garlic mashed Ube

Pan-seared Coral Trout with minced squid concasse, dressed with squid ink sabayon and garlic mashed Ube

Pan-seared Coral Trout with minced squid concasse, dressed with squid ink sabayon and garlic mashed Ube

Dish Number 3: Beef cheek (MELTS IN YOUR MOUTH) braised in peppery red wine sauce served with Queso De Bola cookies

Beef cheek braised in peppery red wine sauce served with Queso De Bola cookies

Beef cheek braised in peppery red wine sauce served with Queso De Bola cookies

Dish 4 and 5 (aka Dessert/SUGAR RUSH/DIABETES ATTACK) – Warm young coconut custard with strips of young coconut served in a Martini glass lined with sweet pastry crumbs and Corner Store Morning Bread infused with custard and baked til golden, topped with Pili Nut Praline

Warm young coconut custard with strips of young coconut served in a Martini glass lined with sweet pastry crumbs and Corner Store Morning Bread infused with custard and baked til golden, topped with Pili Nut Praline

Warm young coconut custard with strips of young coconut served in a Martini glass lined with sweet pastry crumbs and Corner Store Morning Bread infused with custard and baked til golden, topped with Pili Nut Praline

Without a doubt it was a really classy Five course dinner. What I learned though from the chefs who talked during the dinner was that the presentation and how the dish looks is just as important as how it tastes.

To be honest, they were able to achieve this for the presentation of the dishes were no doubt very artistic and ravishing.

Because of the fact it was a food and WINE Festival, I had to try out and taste the wine they were offering. There’s always a first and I did not particularly enjoy the taste of red wine, but at least now I know how it tastes like.

First time to taste Red Wine....

First time to taste Red Wine….

It wasn’t a life changing experience or anything of that sorts, but it was still a new adventure and experience nonetheless. I’m thankful that my dad is very involved with all these cosmopolitan events and that he is very outgoing and gregarious.

Family Picture (With everyone all dressed up)

Family Picture (With everyone all dressed up)

-DOitChoco

Leave a Reply

